Last updated 10 July 2018

Test match cricket and Big Bash all in one place

Australia's new home of cricket, Channel 7, has unveiled an outline of its coverage plans and revealed more commentators for the summer ahead.

For the first time ever, a sole free-to-air broadcaster will broadcast both Test and BBL cricket in Australia. For the next six years, Seven will broadcast:

• 43 Big Bash League matches, including all marquee matches and finals
• All home international tests, including the 2021-22 home Ashes series, and every year the iconic Boxing Day and New Year’s Test matches
• Key Women’s Big Bash League and International matches
• The most prestigious individual prizes in Australian cricket; the Allan Border Medal and Belinda Clark Award.

Seven’s Head of Cricket, Dave Barham commented: “We are looking forward to the summer of cricket enormously. Throughout the coverage, we will be showcasing the players, bringing out their character and personality with more than 30 player features and vignettes. Heartland cricket will also be championed as Seven highlights stories at community level and local cricket.
“And we’ll do all of this while respecting the history of cricket, now that we are custodians of the sport.”

Seven’s Mel McLaughlin and James Brayshaw will form a dual-hosted team for the first time ever in Australian cricket broadcasting in Test cricket.

Three key ball-by-ball callers will call the Test action for Seven including international sports broadcaster and commentator Alison Mitchell, veteran broadcaster Tim Lane and James Brayshaw.
This follows the announcement recently that Australia’s highest ever run-scorer, Ricky Ponting, will call Test matches and BBL on Seven, along with Damien Fleming and Michael Slater, while Glenn McGrath will provide expert commentary for Test matches.

Excitingly, Bruce McAvaney will also be part of Seven’s cricket coverage this summer. Australia’s best sports interviewer and most revered broadcaster, will interview the sport’s most iconic figures during the lunch break at the Melbourne and Sydney Test Matches.
Seven’s commentary team members announced to date; (More commentary team members to be announced closer to summer.)

Download Full Press Release

Latest News